Don’t knock it until you’ve tried it.

As I cooked this meal, Ashley told me how gross it looked. Every holiday season Wawa has their turkey gobbler sandwich. I absolutely love this, and it’s quite often my cheat meal every holiday. Perhaps it’s all of this apple cider that’s put me into a fall mood, but I was really craving a Wawa gobbler. For those of you who don’t know, it’s a hoagie that contains turkey and gravy, cranberry sauce, cheese and stuffing. Everyone always tells me it sounds disgusting, but you really have to try it, it’s one of my favorites. Wanting to make a healthy version, I decided I would combine these flavors into a casserole. I used chicken instead of turkey, simply because we get a great deal on chicken and have a lot of it to spare. I made Ashley a believer, and now I hope to convert some others.

Holiday Casserole

Ingredients

  • 1 1/2 lbs cooked and cubed chicken or turkey
  • 1 can of gravy
  • 1 can of jellied cranberry sauce
  • 1 can of cream of chicken or cream of mushroom soup
  • 8 ounces cooked green beans
  • 1/2 white onion (sauteed beforehand)
  • 5 slices Ezekiel bread (torn up into roughly 1 inch pieces)
  • 4 ounces Mozzarella cheese

At the bottom of a casserole dish, mix the onion, Ezekiel bread, and gravy. Use just enough gravy to get all of the bread moist and mushy. Level it out evenly on the bottom of the pan. Layer the cubed chicken evenly on top, and then mix the green beans and soup together, and layer that on top of the chicken. Slice the cranberry sauce thinly, and layer over the casserole. Now sprinkle the cheese evenly over the whole thing. Bake at 350 degrees for 20 minutes uncovered, and then switch to broil and watch closely until cheese is browned to your liking.

– Bryan

Leave a Reply

