Pancakes, the new healthy breakfast

Protein Pancakes

Of all of the recipes in my arsenal, this particular one is the one that I am the most proud of. This is my own recipe that I invented, which makes it very special to me. They’re also incredibly delicious and healthy. Your average stack of 10 pancakes (yes, I said 10) is about 1200 calories, and contains pretty much no nutritional value whatsoever. It’s all just flour, which is one of the worst things for you. This recipe, which makes about 10 pancakes, is somewhere around 500 calories, and over 50 grams of protein for the whole batch. It took me many mornings of dry, awful pancakes before I perfected this recipe, but now I feel that it is even better than normal pancakes. Without further ado, I present to you my protein pancakes recipe. Enjoy.

Ingredients

  • 3 egg whites and 1 whole egg
  • 3 tbsp milk
  • 1 tbsp cinnamon
  • 1/2 cup oats
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 1 whole banana
  • 1 scoop vanilla protein powder (I use dymatize elite xt brand. I’ve tried optimum 100% whey and it didn’t come out right, so I would suggest a casein or blend protein rather than a whey)
  • coconut oil

Combine all of the ingredients, excluding the coconut oil, in a blender or food processor. I use a personal blender like this …

Blend all of the ingredients until the chunks are gone, and then pour onto a greased pan in pancake circles. Cook over medium heat, flipping when each pancake starts to bubble on the top. It won’t take long at all for them to cook.

I like to drizzle them with a little bit of coconut oil to serve, although I’m sure many maple syrup advocates would stone me for that. They taste so good that I don’t think they need syrup, just a little coconut oil. Those wanting a maple syrup taste may want to experiment with maple syrup extract flavoring. These pancakes are a regular occurring breakfast in our house. I absolutely love them.

– Bryan

Leave a Reply

