Pineapple + Mango + Grill = Happiness

Pineapple Mango Chicken Skewers

This recipe came to be because of several factors.

  1. I wanted to grill something.
  2. I’ve really been craving both pineapples and mangoes lately
  3. I wanted to make kebabs at some point soon.
  4. I had this new soy sauce alternative that I really wanted to try out.

There I sat planning what I was going to cook for the week, when the idea hit me. The idea of putting mangoes and pineapples together with chicken and grilling it sounded far too good not to try it. It came out better than I could have ever imagined. This really is a great dish that I would recommend to anyone, and it’s quite simple. You could try cooking in the oven if grilling isn’t your thing.

Ingredients:

  • 1lb Chicken
  • 1 Mango
  • Pineapple
  • Bragg liquid aminos (A soy sauce alternative)
  • Onion and herb seasoning
  • 1/2 tablespoon minced garlic

Cut the chicken into cubes about 1 inch thick all around. Put into a container with enough Bragg liquid aminos to cover all of the chicken. Sprinkle with onion and herb seasoning, and mix in the garlic. Refrigerate overnight.

Cut the pineapple and mango into pieces that are roughly the same size as the chicken, and then put onto skewers that have soaked in water for about an hour. Put on a piece of pineapple, a piece of mango, and then a piece of chicken. Repeat this 4 times for each skewer. Put onto grill, and turn frequently. The fruit will start to brown up nicely, and it all comes together perfectly. This is really a great meal. I suggest using a meat thermometer, because the chicken will be done, but the parts against the fruit will soak up some fruit juice, and their appearance will make you think they may not be done yet. The easiest way to tell is to simply tear open a piece to make sure the juices run clear. I hope you enjoy this dish as much as I did.

– Bryan

Leave a Reply

